Explaining The Chakra Energy System

Introducing the 8 chakras, our energy centers, located in our upper body and around us. Each of them serves an important role in our physical and mental wellbeing, impacting our glands, hormones, blood and lymph circulation, nervous system, and vagus nerve.

They also express our mental wellbeing, corresponding to the levels of consciousness we are operating from, and telling about the traumas our mind and body has been through in life.

It is a fascinating and complex system that we can work with through breathing, meditation, and physical practice.

1st chakra

Imagine a root going deep, deep to the earth, connecting you with your ancestor line and the earth's wisdom. This is the 1 chakra. It is located at the base of the spine where the tailbone starts, so we are concretely sitting on it. The energy and the impact of the first chakra is the foundation of our life. Whether we feel safe or not, emotionally and physically. It is about accepting our life and the world around us as it has been and is at the moment. It is about forgiveness towards ourselves and others in our lives. Self-acceptance. Forgiveness can take time, it might be hard but is also needed to be able to forward without carrying the past load in our heart, soul, body, and mind.

For practicing forgiveness you can imagine the situation where you felt treated unfairly, feel how it felt, look at the other person, what happened? Take a deep breath and step into the shoes of this other person, what did s/he mean, what happened from his/her perspective? Take a deep breath and send this person love, so much love that you start to recede from the event and you can return to yourself. Take a deep breath. Feel how you feel. It is ok. Fears and cynicisim love to take over our minds, and we always can turn over to light and love instead of the darkness.

2nd chakra

Flow and creativity have their deep roots in the second chakra located just below our navel, in the middle of your lower belly. This is the home of your sexual energy, the energy of creativity, the energy of life. The first three chakras make up the lower chakra triangle which is the foundation of a balanced, happy life. In the second chakra, we make a choice of having a hard control over our life or trusting the flow which is taking us forward. It is the place of play, passion an,d abundance.

Our relationship with money lives also here. The word currency comes from the work current, meaning flow. So, also the money is meant to flow, not to behold or controlled. Again we may choose how we approach our finances, whether we always have enough vs. we never have enough, and whether we accept ourselves as sexual human beings or is there something blocking us to do. For us women, we might have been told to be the good, virtuous girls when we grew up, and we have shut down our channel of creativity and acceptance of sexuality. One of the most famous yoga teachers in Finland said in a chakra dance yoga class “I will rather be a sexy pitch, than a rigid, virtuous girl”.

3rd chakra

OMG, this chakra is a bomb! The third chakra is located below our chest, between the navel and the breastbone area. Our warrior power, grit, self-esteem, fire, commitment, and willpower live here. We can be very intentional about using our power in life by directing our thoughts to the future. Also, hatred and anger live here and with the other lower chakras. Again we can make a choice, reacting or proacting. Transformation starts here and it blows the energy for the upper chakras, igniting the fire of life within you.

You may imagine all the chakras being like wheels, spinning smoothly at their own pace. Imagine if any of your wheels have stopped, it doesn’t send the energy forward the following wheel and the energy within you slowly weakens, and you feel like losing your power. This what easily happens in our hectic lives. But when we are conscious about the chakra energies and power, we take care of them and your wheels will spin at just the right pace for you.

4th chakra

I hear “Love is all you need” from Beatles in my ears when thinking about the 4th chakra. The heart chakra is located in the center of our chest. Self-love, opening our heart, and emotional exchange in relationships, that’s what makes the fourth chakra spin smoothly. Our hearts might break several times during our lives, and it is so important to grief and accept what is, to be able to go forward when we feel so. Sometimes we get stuck on the grief without seeing the future-forward.